After I graduated college (with a BFA and departmental honors in creative writing), I had a VERY difficult time writing. I’d started a novel somewhere around junior year and though I was really proud of what I had written so far, I couldn’t seem to get any more words on the page. I let other things take up my time and my brain space. And I didn’t care that I wasn’t writing because I honestly had no idea what I wanted to say.

All I knew was that I wanted to be taken seriously as a writer. And in my mind that meant no romance, no young adult, no anything that wasn’t the literary style I’d spent 3 years in school studying and trying to write.

So, I wrote NOTHING.

And then one day (close to five years later), I had a major revelation that has changed everything about my writing. I LOVE romance. I want to read about swoony boys and the girls who fall in love with them. Who struggle to find their happily ever after. That’s just who I am. A BIG FAT HOPEFUL ROMANTIC. And I was keeping that part of myself from one of the most personal aspects of my life. (I see you rolling your eyes at me. It’s okay. I totally deserve it. I’d roll my eyes at me too if it didn’t make me look bat-shit crazy.) But once I allowed myself to write what I wanted, what I loved, I haven’t been able to stop. Sure, my books might make some of my former teachers and classmates roll their eyes, but romance novels aren’t the number one selling genre for nothing. And I am damn proud of what I write and what I read.

So, in honor of Valentine’s Day and all my fellow lovers of romance out there, I’m participating in a romance book giveaway. We’ve got two prize packs available: YA and NA/Adult with some seriously swoony books. (Yes, you can enter both!)

Valentine's Day Giveaway

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway to win the YA e-book bundle!

collage-2014-02-06 (2)

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for the NA/Adult e-book bundle!collage-2014-02-06

