Writer RechargeI’m am a goal-oriented person. And I am also seriously lazy when I want to be. An odd combo to be sure. But it means that I don’t have much willpower when it comes to putting down someone else’s book to work on my own. Especially when it’s a book I’ve been waiting a year for and is the end of a series that I’ve enjoyed the hell out of.

That’s what I was up against this past week, the first week of Writer Recharge. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi released on Tuesday. And you know what? Tuesday morning, instead of opening my Kindle to start the book I per-ordered months ago, I sat down with my WIP’s outline and scribbled down changes and new ideas and finally concepted how to end the book. Not just an overall idea of where it ends, but a description of the last scene and the few scenes leading up to it. Then the next morning when I had only 25% left of Ignite Me (because my willpower is not that strong and I read all of Tuesday evening), I wrote part of a new scene (!!!).

I still have a long way to go. Roughly 20,000 words (give or take, well more give than take, 5,000 words). But I’m committed to my Writer Recharge goals this month. I’m committed to this book. And I’m excited as hell to get back to work on it.

