Writer Recharge

First things first, I did not reach my goals. Not a single one. And you know what? I’m perfectly okay with that.

Instead of finishing my WIP, I read a couple (okay, more like half a dozen) books. What? My brain needed a break.

Instead of finishing my WIP, I hung out with some amazing writers in California (and online through #WriterRecharge!) and made some life-long writing friends.

Instead of finishing my WIP, I rewrote chapter one and have something so much better now that I re-read it at least once a week just to remind myself that sometimes feeling defeated is the best thing for me because I’m stubborn, dammit, and don’t give up easily.

Instead of finishing my WIP, I went on walks with my husband and went to our college homecoming game and pretended to be social.

Instead of finishing my WIP, I found a renewed excitement for my story and my characters.

And to me, that’s really what this whole month was about. Wanting to write, to get my story out of my head and onto the page, instead of feeling like I had write because it’s what’s expected when I’m a writer. I added about 13,000 words this month (in addition to rewriting most of chapter 1). And I feel like the end is almost in sight.

So, thank you to the amazing brains behind Writer Recharge. I so needed this.

