Reading_Rewind-01

In the past week and a half, I’ve managed to read two books, plus finish a fantastic MG manuscript for a CP about a girl who can talk to animals, and read the beautifully revised first few chapters for another CP’s folklure-based YA novel.  (And I managed to get some writing done too!) Kinda sad I can’t fangirl over all of it here. So I’ll stick to the two official books…

Til Death

Goodreads Summary:

Sixteen-year old Selena Fallon is a dreamer. Not a day-dreamer, but an I-see-the-future kind of dreamer. Normally this is not a problem as she has gotten pretty good at keeping her weird card hidden from everyone in her small town. Except from her best friend Kyle and her grandparents, of course. But when Selena dreams of her own rather bloody death, things get a little too freaky even for her.

Enter Dillan Sloan. Selena has seen the new guy in a different dream, and he is even more droolworthy in person. Beyond the piercing blue eyes and tousled dark hair, there is something else that draws her to him. Something…electric. Unfortunately, Dillan makes it more than clear that he does not feel the same. They just met, so why would he act like he hates her?

When Dillan and Selena are forced together one weekend to work on a school project, Selena prepares to be ignored as usual. But when she stumbles across a few undead in the backyard, Dillan comes to her rescue and reveals a whole lot more. Not only is he part of a society that hunts otherworldly creatures…she is too. And she is being targeted by a force bigger and darker than anything she ever imagined. Despite her death dream, Selena is not going to give up easy, especially when she discovers that Dillan might not actually hate her after all.

 

My Thoughts:

All I’m all for weird and supernatural in my books. Or in anything really, except real life. But Til Death kinda fell flat for me. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed parts of it, but I was, sadly, not invested in it.

There were so many pieces that didn’t connect for me and characters that seemed like carbon copies of other supernatural characters. I kept wanting Selena to find her latent powers and kick some ass, but all she did was pick stupid fights with Dillan and then swoon over his body. And Dillan. I wanted so much more from him, but his bipolar reaction to things made it hard for me to care too much about either of them. Their fights came out of nowhere and had nothing really to do with anything. If those scenes had added to the sexual tension, I would’ve been cool with it, but as it is, I was just left confused about why they’d both get so mad (like steam coming out of their ears and fantasizing about killing each other mad) over practically nothing and then suddenly they are making out. It just didn’t work for me. And there wasn’t much mystery about the villains (I pegged them early on and then just kept waiting for the characters to clue in).

But what was even more distracting were the similes—really bad ones, really confusing ones, and really too damn many of them. It was a little painful to read. There was a cool twist toward the end, but the rest of the book wasn’t enough to make me want to read the next book in the series and find out how that plays out.

*I received an ARC from Entangled Teen and Net Galley for an honest review.

 

Twelve Steps

Goodreads Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Andi is tired of being a second-class sibling to perfect sister Laina. The only thing Andi’s sure she has going for her is her awesome hair. And even that is eclipsed by Laina’s perfect everything else.

When Andi’s crush asks her to fix him up with Laina, Andi decides enough is enough, and devises a twelve-step program to wrangle the spotlight away from Laina and get the guy.

Step 1: Admit she’s powerless to change her perfect sister, and accept that her life really, really sucks.

Step 4: Make a list of her good qualities. She MUST have more than just great hair, right?

Step 7: Demand attention for more than just the way she screws things up.

When a stolen kiss from her crush ends in disaster, Andi realizes that her twelve-step program isn’t working. Her prince isn’t as charming as she’d hoped, and the spotlight she’s been trying to steal isn’t the one she wants.

As Laina’s flawless façade begins to crumble, the sisters work together to find a spotlight big enough for both to shine.

My Thoughts:

I will post my full review on April 1st as part of Veronica’s blog tour to celebrate the release. But let me just say, this book is super cute. It’s quirky and funny and sweet and at times a little sad. But oh so much fun! It gave me all the feels and made me want to both hug and kick my sister, who just happened to be visiting, so it was a very timely read. Check back next week for more details (as extra incentive, there will be a giveaway with my review!)

