Reading_Rewind-01

So this week, I devoured my CP Rebekah‘s fantasy novel in a few days.  I’ve seen this book from the very beginning and have had detailed conversations with Rebekah about the characters, their actions, motives, and desires. I’ve seen some of my suggestions worked into the story and other ideas that sent her on a completely different path that turned out to be amazing. Even knowing where the story was heading, I couldn’t put it down. And then she went and shocked the hell out of me with a twist I didn’t see coming (and one she purposely didn’t tell me about!) So, I know this isn’t one you can read yet, but this book is so good, I couldn’t not tell you about it.

Now, for one that you can read (and totally should go out and buy now!), also written by one of my friends.

OverTheOceanGoodreads Summary:

When Bree meets Logan, and hears his oh-so-sexy British accent, it’s lust at first sight.

Bree thinks Logan feels the same way, especially when they’re snuggled up on her couch with his tongue down her throat. But when Logan decides that getting into a relationship when he only has a few months left in the States is a bad idea, Bree agrees to be “just friends.”

But every time he flashes his swoon-worthy smile, complete with dimples, Bree has a hard time keeping her thoughts in the “friend zone.”

My Thoughts:

Over The Ocean is a seriously cute novella. If you’re in the mood for a sweet, sexy read, this one’s for you. It combines lust-at-first-sight (and really, who wouldn’t lust after Logan with his dimpled smile and his British accent?) with we-only-have-a-few-months-so-should-we-act-on-our-feelings-or-just-be-friends romance. It even manages to work in some long-repressed emotional baggage that in turn brings Bree and Logan together and pushes them apart.

There were a few inconsistencies in the backstory, but they are easily overlooked (update: I just found out these have been fixed since I bought my copy a few weeks ago). And the end felt a little rushed (I wanted to see more of their happily-ever-after ’cause you know, I never want stories to end!), but overall it’s a quick, fun story that will leave you smiling.

