Reading_Rewind-01

So, I read three books this week and am halfway through a fourth, but only one actually counts for my Reading Rewind post (or towards my Goodreads reading challenge, which is a damn shame b/c it looks like I’m 2-3 books behind schedule, when in fact I’m not!). This week I read a revised version of one of my CP’s novels. And the changes are so, so good. I also read The 5 Love Languages because M and I were required to read it for his job. Very interesting concepts and I can see it helping out in lots of ways, both personally and professionally. And then I also devoured this (in one day)…

Attachments

Goodreads Summary:

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

My Thoughts:

I read both of Rainbow Rowelll’s YA books before trying out her adult book, which published before the other two. Even though Attachments is an adult book, it still feels like a Rainbow Rowell book. It’s funny, like laugh-out-loud-and-hope-nobody-is-giving-you-the-stink-eye-for-being-so-obnoxious-while-you-read funny, with characters you wish were real so you could hang out with them and moments where she just stomps all over your heart for good measure. The technique of only seeing Beth and Jennifer through emails was brilliantly handled. I fell in love with them right along with Lincoln because they were so real, their personalities so vibrant, even without seeing them in the flesh. And the way they talked to each other reminded me so much of one of my friends, whom I also happen to work with, I couldn’t help but feel like I was a part of their email conversations too. And Lincoln’s story interspersed with theirs was a lot of fun. It was great to see him finally grow up and take charge of his life. Like all of his D&D friends, I wanted to shout “About damn time, man!” I wouldn’t have expected a romance to work without the main characters actually interacting with each other for most of the book, but this book totally proved me wrong.

