RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

One week down, many more to go…

1. How I did on last week’s goals

I managed two out of my three goals, hitting 7,142 words (goal 7,000) and completing chapters 4 and 5. Finding time to read however, was not as easy to do, so I’m only 32% done with The Quick. And since it is over 500 pages, it might not have been the best choice to try to read in a week when most of the time I’m focussed on writing.

 

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Write 7,000 words by Sunday night
  • Finish chapters 6 and 7
  • Read Ruin and Rising, because the Darkling, that’s why.

 

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

“So what happens when one of those people decides to ignore her future? Does the guy not have a say in it? Or does he need to use the magic too to make it work?”

“If someone chose to ignore it, she would have her reasons and he should respect that,” she said.

Noah scooted an inch closer. His fingers toyed with the tips of hers and he looked up at her from under thick lashes. “What if he’s not a respectful kind of guy?” The playfulness edged back into his voice, curving the corners of his mouth up.

“Then maybe she’s right to keep her distance.”

“Maybe he’s gonna have to change her mind,” he said.

 

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

Writing scenes in order. I usually just write whatever scene interests me most, no matter where it is in the outline. But since I need the first 100 pages to turn into my editor next month, I have to make myself write those pages first before I can start jumping around and write like I normally do. (It makes for very long, slow writing days.)

 

5. Something I love about my WIP

I love that I’m able to take a story that wasn’t working before and turn it into something new that *so far* really excites me and makes me think I can make it work.

