Reading_Rewind-01

Still lots of writing this week, but I finished one book and started another. I’m really trying to get through the ARCs I have so that’s my focus for the next month or so between the writing and work. The book I read this week is not my normal style (though I did like it!), but I’m sure people who like historical/literary novels will really love it.

Quick

Goodreads Summary:

London, 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society, and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Unnerved, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine city that greets her, she uncovers a secret world at the margins populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling “Doctor Knife.” But the answer to her brother’s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of one of the country’s preeminent and mysterious institutions: The Aegolius Club, whose members include the most ambitious, and most dangerous, men in England.

My Thoughts:

The Quick has such an authentic feel. The voice is strong and the writing beautiful. I was most interested in James (and Christopher) before James “disappeared”. I would’ve like to live with them for the whole book. Their story was so compelling. But after the disappearance (I’m trying to keep this spoiler free!) I wasn’t as engaged. Charlotte and Howland were interesting, along with the large cast of other characters who appeared, but overall, this wasn’t a story I thought about when I wasn’t reading it. It didn’t tug at me or consume my thoughts as many other books do.

I received an ARC of this book from Random House and NetGalley for an honest review.

