RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

Two weeks down, many more to go…

1. How I did on last week’s goals

So, this week wasn’t as productive as the last few. And that’s okay. I got 2,500 of my wanted 5,000 words and I reworked chapters 7, 8, and 9 to make the plot flow better, so I didn’t get any of them completed like I had hoped, but now at least some problematic plot points are working. I did however conduct some fantastic research at The Hot Chocolatier in Chattanooga, TN. This place is like heaven.

Hot Chocolatier

Lavender vanilla hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows (and a box of chocolates for continued research while I write).

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Write 7,000 4-5,000 words (updated when I realized I won’t be writing over the weekend!)
  • Finish chapters 7 , 8, and 9
  • Enjoy spending time with M’s family this weekend

 

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

“Her life seems more like a Choose Your Own Adventure. Maybe you’d fit in one scenario but not another. Or maybe not you’re a choice at all,” Tucker said.

Noah leaned forward and picked at the label that was already going soft from the condensation. “If you think that’s gonna make me like her less, you may want to rethink that.”

“You always died in those books. Then you’d try to do them again and made the same dumbass mistakes and died all over again. You being back here and going after Penelope Dalton again is the same damn thing.”

 

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

Not. Enough. Time.

 

5. Something I love about my WIP

I added a new POV scene this week and it was a lot of fun. I’m still on the fence about how it will work to have a few POV scenes from Noah sprinkled throughout he MS, but I’m hoping I can make it work because I really love what his view adds to the story.

