Reading_Rewind-01

This week I read another ARC. It’s a companion novel to another YA novel I purchased (after reading some glowing reviews and thinking the idea behind the story was so effing good) but haven’t read yet. But since it is a companion and not a sequel, I figured it was okay to read it first.

SilenceGoodreads Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Alexandra Tate sits outside Nate Foster’s house, clutching a gun. After serving ten years for the drunk driving accident that killed Alex’s family, Nate has been released from prison. Every night, Alex waits out of sight, building up the courage to exact her own justice. There’s just one problem: Forgiveness.

Alex has been able to see personified Emotions for as long as she can remember, and Revenge is her best friend. But when Forgiveness suddenly appears, he offers Alex a choice—getting even or moving on. It’s impossible to decide when Revenge whispers in one ear . . . and Forgiveness whispers in the other.

My Thoughts:

Where Silence Gathers has such a cool premise and the first few pages really drew me in with Revenge being a real, tangible body. I enjoyed the playful friendship between him and Alex throughout the story. But in the end the emotions appearing as people were really what frustrated me most about this book. I couldn’t really lose myself in the story because the emotions were too present and in the way of the plot (which I also had problems with). While I liked Revenge, and sort of liked Forgiveness, the rest of the emotions felt too forced as characters. And Alex just confused me. I never connected with her or understand why she spiraled out of control so fast or why she was so defiant and mean to those who loved her. I guess I just wanted some hint that she was a good person, that I should care about her, instead of her constantly being horrible to everyone. As for the story itself, I felt like it couldn’t decide what kind of a book wanted to be—a quiet story about forgiveness or a thriller. And those two separate plots didn’t feel connected in any way, even at the end when they were forced together by a connection that just didn’t work for me.

I received an ARC from Flux and NetGalley for an honest review.

