RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

1. How I did on last week’s goals

This was a BIG week for me. Not necessarily in terms of amount of writing, but in major goals achieved. I hit the 100-page mark (actually 109 pages to take me through chapter 9) in my WIP, which is what I have to have to send to my editor to see if she’s interested in acquiring it. Obviously it still needs a few read-throughs and  revisions, but this is an important first step in this novel. So, I got 4,500+ words this week and complete the chapters I wanted to. (I also have another 80+ pages of the novel done from a previous version of this book that are there for me to work on, which means I’m almost to the 50,000 word mark too!)

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Revise The Art of Breaking based on agent feedback from a partial so I can send her the full!
  • Read and begin revisions on the WIP, tentatively titled The Probability of Fate
  • Write a synopsis for the WIP
  • READ!!! I really want to read for fun this week too, but it may not happen.

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

His shoes scraped the ground as he slowed, spitting pebbles over their feet. He turned to face her and hooked his fingers around the chains of her swing to pull them closer. One knee slipped between her legs while the other pressed against the outside of her thigh. Her breath caught at his closeness. All she had to do was lean forward and their lips would touch.

“Does that mean you’re back to not-hating me? ’Cause I’m about to kiss you and it will work out much better if you don’t want to punch me in the face.”

 

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

Romantic scenes. As important as they are to romance novels, I struggle with being descriptive so the reader will get all the feels and NOT delving into bodice-ripper type descriptions. There will be no “quivering members” in my stories. (Anyone know what movie that description is from?)

 

5. Something I love about my WIP

I’m loving the new aspects of characters that are revealing themselves to me as I get further into this story. The characters are surprising me in all sorts of good ways and it makes me so damn happy.

