Reading_Rewind-01

Ooh, this week was all about reading the latest book from one of my favorite YA authors. Kasie West has only been published for about 1.5 years, and already she has 4 books out with more on the way. And they are ALL so very good. I will read any book she publishes because they all give me so many feels. (If you’re not reading her, you should be!)

Fence

Goodreads Summary:

She’s a tomboy. He’s the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she’s got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she’s falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Fun, original, and endearing, On the Fence is a romantic comedy about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect.

My Thoughts:

Kasie West books just make my heart happy. And On the Fence was no different. The characters are so real and vivid and are  people I wish I could hang out with in real life. I especially loved the relationships between Charlie and her brothers. That interaction gave such a clear picture of Charlie’s personality and her inner struggles with being a girl among a whole mess of guys. And then there’s Braden. Oh, that boy is adorable and super swoony. This book gives all sorts of feels while making me laugh, a lot. There was so much playfulness in here mixed with much heavier topics like suicide and abusive relationships, and the balance was so perfectly done that I never felt bogged down by the story. And when it ended, I just wanted another book to continue their story (or for them to at least pop up in another book like Skye and Caymen did in this one!)

