RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

1. How I did on last week’s goals

So, I wanted to write 5,000 words last week, but my heart wasn’t in it. I did get 3,200 after I got myself back on track, so that’s something! I did revise my synopsis, and it’s pretty good for not having the book finished yet.

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Revise the first 100ish pages of the WIP after CP feedback and clarify all of the confusing bits
  • Stop stressing about this book and enjoy my sister’s baby shower next weekend
  • READ!!!

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

“So what did you do?” Layne asked.

Tucker chuckled to himself and said, “Dude got out his boombox and held it over his head outside her window and went all 1980s rom-com on her.”

Noah laughed and flipped him off. “Yeah, says the guy who built a life-size TARDIS, with sound effects and all no less, to convince a girl he was worth her time. Also, you’re so full of shit.”

“It worked,” Layne said. She laced her fingers with Tucker’s on the bar.

“Damn right it worked,” Tucker said, grinning at her. He scratched at his leg again with his free hand. “Too bad for Noah I got all of the getting-the-girl genes.”

“Hey, I get plenty of girls,” Noah said and winked at his sister-in-law, who rolled her eyes.

“Yeah, but I got the right one. You’re still pining for yours. Which, I gotta say, is pretty damn ironic since she hooks people up for a living.”

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

I struggled a lot this week with the magical foundation of my story. There is a huge aspect of fate in this one (well in most of my writing really) and as I was worried about, some of the pieces need a lot more explanation for a reader to buy into it. And I’m not sure yet exactly how to do that. So I didn’t do anything on it most of the week. Not sure I know what to do yet, but at least I’m moving forward again.

5. Something I love about my WIP

I love that even with the big gaping holes and questions about backstory, my CP who’s read it still enjoyed it. It needs work, but it’s not total shit, and that makes it a lot easier to buckle down and fix the parts that need it so this story can live up to what I see in my head. (Thanks for the confidence boost, Rebekah!)

