RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

1. How I did on last week’s goals

I hit all of my goals last week: I revised the first 115ish pages of my WIP based on excellent feedback from two CPs, now it is with my editor and fingers crossed she likes it; after a serious stress headache on Thursday, I ignored my MSs that are out with editor/agents and put most of my energy into celebrating my sister’s birthday and then throwing her a kick-ass baby shower.

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Write 3,500 words on WIP
  • Betaread a MS for a writer friend/new CP!

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

The following happens just after Penelope gives Noah some chocolates that will make him tell her the truth:

“Why did you and Zan break up?” she asked after a moment.

“Wow, no shallow water with you, huh?”

“What, should I have asked your favorite color?”

“Green, if you must know. As for me and Zan, we both knew our relationship was more lust than love. Don’t get me wrong, we liked each other, but not in the way either of us should have for it to be anything real.”

She avoided his eyes when she asked, “Did you ever think that all of your drinking and partying and general jackassery was what kept you from forming anything ‘real’ as you put it, with anyone?”

“No,” Noah said without hesitation. He waited for her to look at him, his whole face tight with an emotion she couldn’t quite place. “Do you really think I’m a jackass?”

“Hey, I’m the one asking questions here. But no, I do not currently think that.”

“So I’m growing on you?”

“Like a fungus,” Penelope joked.

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

Stress. I handle stress relatively well up to a point. And then I just can’t function. Crazy dreams that keep me from getting decent sleep and headaches that make me want to throw up. That was my week. And unfortunately there’s nothing I can do about the stress b/c I have no control over the things stressing me out (fulls with agents and new partial MS with editor). That’s the business, but some days it’s hard. And I’m trying to learn how to deal with it better.

5. Something I love about my WIP

I love that the kid in this manuscript is based on my niece, who I spent the weekend with. She’s sneaky and sassy and full of drama, but she makes me laugh a lot and is just an all-around sweet kid (most of the time). She makes writing Ella so damn easy.

