RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

1. How I did on last week’s goals

So, I wrote just over my goal of 3,500 words this week. I had hoped to get more, but at least I hit my goal. And I’m very happy with what I wrote, so that’s a plus. I also started betareading a MS for a friend, but other books consumed most of my week. (More on that below.)

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Write 3,500 words on WIP
  • Continue betareading
  • Read and get inspired by other swoony books

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

Penelope’s nails settled at the nape of his neck and skimmed down the line of his spine until it disappeared into his shirt. Then she ran them back up and repeated the movement, making it hard for him to concentrate on anything else. His breath stuttered at the intimacy of it. When he leaned into the touch, she seemed to realize what she was doing and snatched her hand away.

Noah shifted in the chair to meet her eye. Her lashes fluttered as she cut her eyes away, and a soft pink crept onto her cheeks. He wanted to grab her hand and put it back, but instead he just exhaled and dropped his chin into his hand to hide his smile.

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

Reading. All I wanted this week was to lose myself in other books. And I did. I read three this week. But I will say that two of them were steamier romances of the adult variety instead of my usual YA books, so this was totally research for my WIP. Right?

5. Something I love about my WIP

I’m usually terrified of writing heavier/sexier scenes. But after reading the above-mentioned books, I wrote some really good scenes. And they are much hotter than anything I usually write. And it was fun instead of being agonizing. (But I will still blush like hell when people tell me they’ve read it.)

