RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

1. How I did on last week’s goals

Um, yeah, so I wanted to write 3,500 words. What I did was write 1,800ish and then delete about 3,000. Not quite what I planned. But it was needed. I was stuck and didn’t know how to move forward, so I went back to the plot on the back half of the MS and reworked the crap out of it. Productive week, just not how I thought it’d go. I did finish betareading one MS for a friend though.

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Write 3,500 words on WIP
  • Start betareading another MS
  • Get inspired by rockers at the AFI, 30 Seconds to Mars, Linkin Park concert this week!

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

The line went quiet for a moment, neither one willing to admit how much this sucked.

Finally, Noah said,“You could come with me. I’ve got to work late both nights, but we’d still have some time to ourselves. And we could always have a lazy morning in bed on Sunday.”

Penelope smiled into the dark. “Very tempting.”

“Don’t say ‘but.’”

“What would Ella think if we went off together for a weekend? She’s already convinced you belong with us, and that would just add fuel to her fire.”

“You don’t have to tell her—scratch that, forget I said it. I swear I’m not the kind of guy who suggests you lie to your kid.” His breath sighed through the phone. “Why don’t you both come over on Monday? We’ll do dinner, let Ella and Fish play.”

“I’m not having sex with you in your brother’s house while the girls play down the hall.”

His low chuckle twisted her stomach into instant knots. “Not what I meant, but I love that your mind went there.”

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

Stupid plots that refuse to fall in stupid line. Seriously though, I like a lot of the elements of my planned plot, but I realized that a lot of what I’ve figured out over the past month or so about my characters wasn’t reflected in what I had planned. So I got majorly stuck. I’ve added their personalities into the plot and rearranged things and dropped other things completely and I feel better. (I think.)

5. Something I love about my WIP

I’m kinda loving that it’s not exactly the book I thought I’d tell. It’s constantly surprising me and even though this week was frustrating as hell, it means that I have characters that I really love and want to do right by them, even when it wasn’t what I thought they needed.

