RSWtealpolaroid

Ready. Set. WRITE! is an online writing intensive to help stay accountable with your writing goals over the summer and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on whether planning, drafting, or revising! Your RSW hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman. Find the rest of the details HERE.

1. How I did on last week’s goals

Beat my goal of 3,500 words with just over 4,000! Started betareading a really fun MS for a friend. I’ve read a few chapters before and adore it so I’m excited to finally read the whole thing. And I also had a blast at the Carnivores tour in Charlotte, where I got to see my editor for a few minutes and got lots of hot rocker-boy character inspiration from these guys…

Carnivore

2. My goal(s) for this week

  • Write 3,500 words on WIP
  • Continue betareading another MS
  • Try really hard not to stalk the mentors I pitched in Pitch Wars!
  • Ignore the above goals if my niece decides to arrive this week (baby-waiting is stressful!)

3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised

“Oh, honey, you have no idea,” he said.

“Honey?” Penelope asked.

“What, would ‘baby’ have been better?”

With her forehead against the cool glass, she closed her eyes and chuckled, imagining the smirk tugging at his lips. “No. It’s just that’s what Mama and Ella call me. I’m not used to you doing it, even when you don’t mean it in an endearing way.”

“Who says I don’t mean it that way?” The hurt in his voice dropped it to almost a whisper.

“You know what I mean. The way you said it was how a guy talks to a girl when he’s got sex-brain.”

“I’m not entirely sure I know what that means because I think you just made that word up. But I can guarantee that I meant it in a my-head-is-so-full-of-thoughts-of-you-that-I-can’t-think-straight kind of way.”

Her heart shoved hard and fast against her ribs. “Yeah?” she asked.

“Yeah,” Noah said.

4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)

A really nice, encouraging rejection from an agent about a different book. Hit me kinda hard and made me not want to write this week (yay self-pity!). But I pushed through and got my words done.

5. Something I love about my WIP

I love that the words are still coming, even when it’s really, really hard. They might not be the best words ever, but, hey, that’s what revision’s for, right?

