RSWtealpolaroidFirst, a HUGE thank you to our Ready. Set. Write! hosts Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman and the other writers who participated this summer. Your encouragement and excitement for the excerpts I posted kept me going, even on the days that I didn’t feel like doing anything writing related. Major hugs to all of you!

Here were my summer-long goals:

  • Write 1,000 words/day (or at least 7,000 by the end of each weekend if the day-to-day gets too insane)
  • Have a 100-page sample of my WIP and a synopsis for my editor by my mid-July deadline for the option book on my contract
  • Come up with a title for my WIP
  • Read at least one ARC a week from the backlog I’ve been amassing

Here’s how I did:

  • I kept up the 7,000 word/week pace for the first month. (Yay!) Then I had to reevaluate based on life and work and sanity’s-sake. But most weeks I managed to hit my weekly goal (whatever I decided it should be) and I added almost 40,000 words to the WIP. So, big win.
  • I sent 115-ish pages and a full synopsis to my editor in late July (and that was after having two CPs read it and me revising based on their feedback). Not quite by my deadline, but definitely in by my editor’s deadline, so this is a win too.
  • I have a title! One that I like, too. So we’ll see what my editor thinks. (In case you’re curious, it’s THE PROBABILITY OF FATE).
  • I’m really glad I put reading on my goals list.  I didn’t always read an ARC because I got some really great books this summer, but out of 16 books, 9 were ARCS. And I brought my NetGalley percentage WAY up, so hopefully I can keep getting ARCS that I want.

Overall, this summer was hugely productive. I’m happy with the progress I made and hope I can keep it up a little longer to finish the draft of my WIP within the next month!

