Reading_Rewind-01

It’s November, which means it’s also NaNoWriMo time. I am usually very strict about hitting my daily word counts to keep on track, but The Retribution of Mara Dyer came out this week and there was no way I was not reading it immediately. I’m two days behind on my writing, but it was so damn worth it.

Retribution

Goodreads Summary:

Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.
Retribution has arrived.

My Thoughts:

Out of all the kick-ass fictional characters out there, Mara Dyer is not one I’d want to screw with. And The Retribution of Mara Dyer is full of reasons why. It’s dark and gritty and painful and bloody (yeah, so seriously bloody). Mara is pissed and sick and scared and desperate. All of those emotions boil over pushing the story and Mara into some scary places. Which is exactly what I expect from this series. It’s never shied away from ugly truths or pain. But at the same time, this book is also full of hope and unbreakable friendship (all the hearts to Jamie) and siblings standing up for each other no matter what and a love worth fighting (and you know, maybe dying) for. It included some nice throwbacks to the first two books and some amazing banter between Mara and Jamie and Mara and Noah and Mara and everyone, really. I loved so much about this book, but chapter 73 made my fangirl heart explode. Such an amazing ending to this series.

