There’s thing thing happening tonight. You might have heard of it–New Year’s Rockin’ Eve. I doubt any of my favorite bands will be part of this televised concert (actually, I’m certain they won’t be, which is why I’m not watching) so instead I’m scouring YouTube to create my own private concert full of passionate, kick-ass, hard rockers.

This year was an epic music year for me. I discovered a lot of new bands, saw some of my all-time favorite bands perform (Ra, Lacuna Coil (3 times this year alone!), Anberlin), and picked up a few souvenirs along the way (like 2 bass picks and a shredded drumstick from Lacuna Coil and a signed set list from the last Ra show, possibly ever). And there were so many songs that shot straight to my soul and made a little nest there, keeping me company as I worked, drove and wrote. Here are some of my favorites from the year that I am still obsessed with.

Nothing Stands in Our Way by Lacuna Coil

Cry by The Used

This Is the Time (Ballast) by Nothing More

Carnivore by Starset

All Who Remain by Beware of Darkness

Picture Perfect by Escape the Fate

Room to Breathe by You Me At Six

Would You still Be There by Of Mice and Men

Always by Killswitch Engage

I Hope You Suffer by AFI

Set Me on Fire by Flyleaf

Let’s Go by The Family Ruin

Skeletons by Heartist

