I’ve been on the query roller coaster to find an agent for a few years now. More years than I’d like to admit, but that’s life. It started with my first definitely-not-ready-to-query manuscript that I was so damn proud of. Looking back, I’m not at all surprised that I only got a few full requests and mostly form rejections. Parts of it were good. Most if it was not.

But I learned so much from that book. How to create well-rounded, relatable characters, how to develop a more exciting plot, how to hone my voice. I also learned how to move on from a book that’s going nowhere.

Fast forward to 2014. I finally became a published author. I caught the eye of a small digital-first publisher in an online contest and publishing LOVE AND CUPCAKES became a reality. But I still desperately wanted an agent. I wanted a champion of my writing, someone whom I could bounce ideas off of and work with toward a common goal of getting more of my books published. *Fingers crossed many, many more.* But I continued to believe in the advantage of having an agent, not just for their ability to sell me and my work to larger publishers, but also for the support and enthusiasm that comes from someone loving your work enough to want to sell it.

Then this past fall I was selected to participate in Pitch Wars, a two-month long intense revision contest in which I worked with my mentor on revising my manuscript for an adult magical realism novel WISHES TO NOWHERE. I shredded a lot of the book and with the help of my amazing mentor, Karma Brown, put it back together again. But in a much stronger, more exciting story. Though I only received one request in the agent round of Pitch wars, I was confident that this book was the one that would get me an agent. I could just feel it.

And guess what? It happened.

I am thrilled to tell you that I am now represented by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency. After a nerve-wracking R&R (revise and resubmit) and politely stalking her online (while trying to not seem like a stalker) and an hour and a half phone call that felt more like I was just talking to one of my good friends who fangirls over all of the same quirky, whimsical books and TV shows (Pushing Daisies! Wonderfalls! Daria!) that I do rather than someone I’d never talked to before, I didn’t even have to think about whether or not I wanted to sign with her when she offered.

Patricia is exactly the kind of agent I want on my side. Someone who not only gets me and my weird (in the best kind of way) books, but who also has ideas about how to make both me and my books even better.

