RSW7

It’s June, and you know what that means? Yep, you guessed it, a summer full of writing goals thanks to Ready. Set. WRITE!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow. (Read this for full details on how RSW! works.)

I participated last year and loved how posting my goals and how I did on said goals kept me accountable each week. And kept my word count growing month after month. And since I have even more writing to get done this year (thanks to my two-book deal with Thomas Dunne and an agent who is fully supportive of working on my YA ideas now that those adult books have found a home), I need this push more than ever.

Update posts will go up on Mondays and will follow this format:

  1. How I did on last week’s goals
  2. My goal(s) for this week
  3. A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised
  4. The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write)
  5. Something I love about my WIP

Since this is the first RSW! post, it’s all about setting initial goals, both overall goals and specific goals for this week. So here goes…

Overall Goals:

  • Complete edits to WISHES TO NOWHERE (once I get edits back from fabulous new editor and by the deadline of July 1)
  • Write a minimum of 25,000 words on sparkly new YA idea
  • Take time to read for fun

Week 1 Goals:

  • Define magic and world of new YA book idea
  • Plot out new YA book
  • Finish reading ARC of SIX OF CROWS

Okay, now that that’s done, it’s time to get cracking.

