RSW7

Week 1 of Ready. Set. WRITE!  is behind us already. (For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.)

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Define magic and world of new YA book idea: Got a good start on this and will keep adding to it as I figure out this new world.
  • Plot out new YA book: This got back-burnered due to receiving edits from Awesome Editor a week earlier than expected. This week though, it’s on!
  • Finish reading ARC of SIX OF CROWS: Finished. And, damn, this book is amazing!
  • UNEXPECTED WORK: I knocked out all edits from my editor and brainstormed potential new titles.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Plot out new YA book
  • Write 1,500 words in new YA book

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

The kiss was long and sweet. A promise of everything yet to come.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

I seriously struggled with trying to give two characters a HEA when I purposely left their love story open ended. But Awesome Editor wanted them to get their happy ending, so I had to find a way to make it work. Once I got past trying to make it a BIG moment and just let the characters be themselves, it finally clicked. (See my favorite line above!)

Something I love about my WIP:

I love that in the past year, I have ripped this novel apart, pieced it back together then reworked it a few more times, and all of that effort paid off in a contract with a kick-ass agent and dream editor/publisher. Plus it involves magical pie.

