RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 1,500 words in new YA book: When I set this goal, I forgot I was going out of town this weekend, so  I only got about 500 words this week. But I got some good brainstorming done in the car, so hopefully this week I’ll really get moving on my word count!
  • Start reading I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN (both for fun and research purposes): I’m only about two chapters in, but so far, I love it.
  • (More) UNEXPECTED WORK: I spent the first few days this week brainstorming new potential titles for my book that comes out next year. My agent, editor, and I have narrowed it down to a few we love. I think it’s out of my hands for now, which means I can focus on the above two goals.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Continue (and hopefully finish) reading I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

MaggieAndRemy. That’s how people used to refer to us. One word. One inseparable unit. It had been that way my whole life.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Since the whole point of RSW! is to keep motivated, I’m just going to say this…I’m scared of writing in first person. I never do it. Never. But this book would work really well in first person present and first person past in the alternating timelines. So I have to do it, even if I have no clue how.

Something I love about my WIP:

I love that the characters are finally starting to reveal themselves to me. Little by little I’m getting to know them. What makes them tick, what’s happened in their live to put them in this specific place at this specific time. It’s such a fun place to be.

