RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: Finally, FINALLY, I made my word count this week! Not much over 2,500 words but I got there at least. (Major thanks to my Super CP Rebekah for having online writing dates with me this week to keep me motivated!)
  • Continue (and hopefully finish) reading I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN (both for fun and research purposes): Finished. Oh, y’all, this book. So beautiful and moving and gorgeously written. I am so glad I finally read it. It was exactly what I needed to read to get my head in the right space to work on my WIP.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Start reading TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

The timer’s been wailing for who knows how long. From the wisps smoke leaking from the sides of the oven door it’s been long enough that everything inside is well past charred. Not even a scrap of hope I might be able to find some zombie-cakes, able to be brought back from the dead by scraping off the outer layer of burn.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Dialogue is usually what sparks everything else in my stories. But I’m not hearing these characters in my head yet. They are being super un-chatty, which  is frustrating. But I’m hoping as I write more they will loosen their lips (which is ironic since my MC is determined to keep her lips sealed–and off the Hot Neighbor Boy (HNB).)

Something I love about my WIP:

I love the voice I’m finding for this story. It’s snarky and guarded and kinda broken, but hints at so much more going on. That will be a lot of fun to explore and reveal as I go on.

