RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: I got 2,000 words last week, which was short of my goal, but considering I procrastinated ALL week I’m just glad I have something to show here!
  • Start reading TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE: Finished. It’s a cute read, but I didn’t love it like a lot of other people do. I guess I kept expecting something a little more epic to happen in the romance department and felt let down when it didn’t.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Betaread a manuscript for one of my agent-sisters. (It is so my kind of book and I can’t wait to dive into it!)

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

“Well, that’s one way to get my attention,” the boy says. His smile is quick. Lethal.

My ability to talk, along with all of my gooey-again insides, trickle out of the gaping hole he’s just carved in my chest.

What. The. Hell?

A guy who’s said exactly one sentence to me should not have this kind of effect on me. It’s beyond pathetic. Maybe it’s the season messing with my head. Though I’ve never heard of that happening before. God, I’ve got to get a grip.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Um, did you see that oh-so-brief mention about procrastination up above? Yeah, well, the struggle was real this week, y’all. I just didn’t want to write. So I didn’t. I thought about the book a lot, and got some really good plotting work done, but sitting down and putting words on paper? Yeah, not even remotely interested in doing that. I finally made myself start working on Saturday, but still wasn’t as dedicated as I should have been.

Something I love about my WIP:

I have a complete first chapter. Yeah, I know, that’s not much. But it’s a start. And I really, really like it.

