RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: I got over 2,500 words in one day! But it was the only day I wrote this week. But at least I can mark this goal as a win.
  • Betaread a manuscript for one of my agent-sisters: I read through and critiqued the whole MS this week and enjoyed the hell out of it. Lots of magic and romance, which is right up my alley. Can’t wait to see some editor fall in love with it.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Read my ARC of A SUMMER LIKE NO OTHER from RSW!’s very own Elodie Nowodazkij!
  • Read my ARC of THE ACCIDENT SEASON

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

“Then you find someone who does.”

Like getting over the boy I was already half in love with would be so easy.

Somehow it was that easy for Maggie. She fell in and out of love with boys as often as she applied a fresh coat of lipstick, which she’d done just before we exited the car. But as flighty as her relationships seemed to those on the outside, she loved with her whole heart. It was always both feet in, heart served up to the boy on a silver platter with a little note that said “While I’m yours, I’m one-hundred percent yours.” And by accepting her gift of love, the boy also accepted the fact that it would end when Maggie said it did. No changing her mind. No second chances. No regrets.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Time. I just had too much going on this week to really sit down at get words on paper until the weekend.

Something I love about my WIP:

The voice is getting easier to write. The more I write in first person, the more I’m enjoying it. And it fits this story so well that it’s not nearly as much of a struggle as I expected it to be. So, yay!

