RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: I got over 3,100 words this week!
  • Read my ARC of A SUMMER LIKE NO OTHER from RSW!’s very own Elodie Nowodazkij: Such a cute, heart-filled story that’s fun and emotional and over way too quickly!
  • Read my ARC of THE ACCIDENT SEASON: Ooh, this book is stunning. Magical and dark and a little twisty and oh, so swoony.
  • Bonus Books: I also read SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA, which was absolutely heartwarming and delightful; and A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC, which is so vivid it’s like watching the story unfold in a movie instead of on paper.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Finish prep for RAI treatment and isolation next week
  • Read something if I have time

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

The words are out before I can stop them. Something about him calls to the girl deep inside me. The girl who flirts and laughs easily and daydreams about kissing boys and falls in love like it’s the beginning of everything instead of a disease that eats you up from the inside out. And I can’t figure out if it’s him specifically that I’m reacting to or just that he’s someone new, someone who wouldn’t blame me for being that girl again.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Books. There are just so many wonderful books out there just begging me to read them. so I did. And I regret nothing.

Something I love about my WIP:

It finally feels like this manuscript is moving forward. I hit the 11,000-word mark this weekend and it just felt so damn good. I still have a long, long way to go, but it feels achievable.

