RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: I got over 3,000 words this week! Some really good words too.
  • Get RAI treatment and don’t go crazy being in isolation for a week: Radiation itself was super easy. Just a low dose in pill form. No bad side effects, no neon glow emanating from my skin. And isolation isn’t the worst thing ever, but I’ll be really damn happy when I can touch things without fear of contaminating them with radiation. Two more days. Two more days. Two more days.
  • Read something if I have time: I guess time wasn’t so much a factor as not wanting to radiate my books. I’ve been staring at THE SCORPIO RACES and BLOOD AND SALT all week, but haven’t cracked them open. Two more days. Two more days. Two more days.
  • Bonus: I launched a giveaway on my blog last week to celebrate the upcoming release of COME AWAY WITH ME by Karma Brown. If you’re interested in winning a copy of the book and a gorgeous travel journal, go enter!

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Eat a cheeseburger. Or pizza. Or anything dairy, chock full of iodine that I haven’t been allowed to eat in a month!
  • Read BLOOD AND SALT and maybe THE SCORPIO RACES too.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

“That’s the thing though. I do. I always want to talk to you, Remy. I know I shouldn’t, but it’s like this compulsion I can’t control. Like when I see you some Remy-switch flips in my brain and every other thought fades away. And I see you like I did last summer when a single smile from you could set my whole body on fire. And I’m desperate to say something, anything, to make you laugh because it’s the best sound in the world and I hate that you don’t do it anymore. But I don’t ever let myself get close enough. I don’t let myself do anything I want where you’re concerned.”

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Being forced to stay away from my husband and my cats. Basically, I felt like this all week when I looked at any of them:

Digby

That made it very hard to concentrate on writing. (Not to mention the plastic bags and plastic wrap covering my computer.)

Something I love about my WIP:

I love that I get to tell two love stories in one without having a love triangle.

