RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: I got just over 2,500 words this week. I probably should’ve done more, but at least I reached the goal! And I reworked my outline (for the third time so far!) to add more magic and obstacles into the plot. So excited about where this story is going.
  • Eat a cheeseburger. Or pizza. Or anything dairy, chock full of iodine that I haven’t been allowed to eat in a month: I didn’t get the burger or the pizza yet, but I did get some seafood and ice cream so all is well.  (Minus the fact that some of my taste buds got burned off from the radiation and now nothing tastes the way it should. Grr.)
  • Read BLOOD AND SALT and maybe THE SCORPIO RACES too: I finished THE SCORPIO RACES, which I loved. And am over halfway through BLOOD AND SALT, which is just as amazing as I expected it to be. I would’ve finished it too, but I did some betareading for CPs who are entering Pitch Wars, and that took precedence. (Fingers crossed for them and their brilliant books!)

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book
  • Finish BLOOD AND SALT and order a cool giveaway to go on my blog to help Kim celebrate release next month.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

Driving up the mountain gives me this weird rush of happiness that shoots all the way into my bones. There is absolutely nothing like zipping around the final curve where the steep climb up comes to an end and seeing the town spread out below, haloed by a ring of wispy clouds. It’s breathtaking. Every. Damn. Time.

The lanes are narrow and in a few places I have to cut into the opposite lane to swing wide enough to make the turn. The first time I drove this road I was convinced I was going to run into the side of the mountain or straight off the plunging-cliff side when I had to make one of those hairpin turns, but Maggie sat in the backseat, one hand snaked between my seat and the driver’s side door, rubbing a calming hand on my shoulder while Dad talked me through it. Now I drive it on reflex. A quick glace up to make sure the lane’s free and then I’m off and around the bend and on to the next one. And up and up and up.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

I actually had a pretty good writing week, so I’m just going to leave it at that.

Something I love about my WIP:

I’m really loving the setting of this book. It takes place in a fictional town in the NC mountains, and it’s a mix of Asheville, NC and Signal Mountain, TN, the mountain I grew up on. It’s got that small Southern town feel with waterfalls and hiking trails and fun curving roads to drive. Even though I’m a beach girl through and through, this town feels like home.

