RSW7

For details on Ready. Set. Write!, hosted by Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow, read this.

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book: I got just over 2,500 words this week. Seriously like 8 whole words over. Again, I should’ve written more, but goal achieved, so I’m feeling good.
  • Finish BLOOD AND SALT and order a cool giveaway to go on my blog to help Kim celebrate release next month: I finished BLOOD AND SALT in two days. I could not put it down. I loved, loved, loved this book. And I found a gorgeous black silk wrap bracelet to giveaway on my blog (so check back in a week or two when it launches so you can enter!).
  • Bonus Book: I also read THE WINNER’S CURSE. And wow, what an amazing YA fantasy. I’m dying to read book 2 but then I will have to wait for book 3 to release and I’m not sure my heart can handle that wait.

My goal(s) for this week:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book (and surpass my goal of 25,000 for the summer, even if only by a few hundred words!)
  • Read/Revise the first 5,000 words of my WIP to submit for the writer’s retreat I’m going to this fall. Beth Revis and Cristin Terrill will be reading/critiquing the pages for the workshop, so I’m super nervous and want to make sure it’s worthy of their time. This might stretch into next week since I have a few wonderful writer friends who have offered to critique for me before my submission is due the first week of Sept.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

When I stay quiet, he continues, “So, are things weird with Isaac because he’s one of your summer conquests?” His voice is low, playful, and carries the hint of a laugh, but the tension in his jaw and the way he leans toward me just slightly say the answer is more important than he wants to admit.

I want to laugh and say something like “Do I look like the kind of girl who kisses and tells?” but my mouth refuses to comply. Instead, I press my fingers to my lips to keep the truth from slipping out.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

Two-thirds of my words this week were in one scene. It’s getting unruly. But I like what’s happening and what the characters are saying so I just keep letting it stretch on and on. (It’s over 2,200 words and it’s still not done.) And I can’t quite wrap my head around how to tie it up and move on.

Something I love about my WIP:

I got some really excited feedback from a blogger friend who offered to read the opening for me. She had lots of positive things to say and she wants to read more, so I think I’m doing something right. I know it still needs a lot of work, but it’s nice to know it’s not total crap. 🙂

