RSW7

First off, I want to say thank you to the amazing Ready. Set. Write! hosts, Alison MillerKaty UppermanErin Funk, Elodie Nowodazkij, and Jaime Morrow! I can’t believe the summer is already over. But thanks to you and the other bloggers, I had such a productive few months. So here’s my final update…

How I did on last week’s goals:

  • Write 2,500 words in new YA book (and surpass my goal of 25,000 for the summer): I ended my writing session with a total of 25,152 words today.  Woo hoo!
  • Read/Revise the first 5,000 words of my WIP to submit for the writer’s retreat: I received enthusiastic and incredibly helpful notes from five of the six CPs/betareaders who offered to read. And I’ve incorporated them into my revisions. All in all, the beginning is in good shape, it just needs some better grounding for the magic and a few other tweaks to really make these pages shine.

How I did on my overall goals:

  • Complete edits to WISHES TO NOWHERE: Done! I not only completed my edits, but my editor sent the manuscript out for blurbs. I already have two and I hope to get a few more within the next month or so. *Fingers crossed*
  • Write a minimum of 25,000 words on sparkly new YA idea: Done! I am so in love with where this book is going. And thanks to some amazing CPs and betareaders, I think I’m on the right track. Now only another 50-60k left to go.
  • Take time to read for fun: Done! I’m so happy I made this a goal. I read 10 books this summer, plus a novella and a short story. What a fun way to spend my summer.

A favorite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised:

Since it’s the last update, I’m giving a little longer excerpt:

I had the overwhelming urge to kiss him then and there. No matter that a dozen people were watching us or that I had promised Maggie I would take my time making a decision. I leaned toward him, my heart going into overdrive, urging me closer until the only thing between us was a few millimeters of exhaled breaths.

Isaac pulled away at the last second and my lips grazed his jaw instead of their intended target.

I didn’t move right away, thinking—hoping—this was one of those cute, clumsy first-kisses you see in Rom-Coms where we’d both laugh and try again and have that magical, nothing-can-ever-top-the-perfection-of-this-kiss moment. But he didn’t laugh. He didn’t try again.

And the weight of my feelings for him threatened to crush me. I let out a shaky breath and remembered, too late, that I was practically standing on top of him. He shivered, but didn’t move away from me.

Without taking his eyes off the top of the falls, he said, “Remy, listen.”

But I had zero interest in whatever excuse he was going to use on me. I needed to get as far away from him as possible before everyone here realized I’d just been rejected. Before Maggie could say I told you so. Before some other guy thought he could take Isaac’s place as if they were interchangeable.

The biggest challenge I faced this week (ex. finding time to write):

This week was busier than normal socially. I only had a few nights free to write, which made me stress out when I just needed to focus so I’d get like 180 words a day until the weekend when I could finally knock out the bulk of the words.

Something I love about my WIP:

I love that one of the “Then” characters is quickly becoming one of my favorites, though I didn’t plan for him to be as wonderful as he is. It might actually cause I problem later, but for now, I’m just going to enjoy him.

