Friday Pieday Graphic

The Secret Ingredient of Wishes came out this week and I could not be more excited! Shameless “buy the book” plug: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indie Bound

So to celebrate the release, I made a raspberry version of what has turned into my “good luck” pie. The original pie is a Blackberry Sour Cream Pie and I made it for the first time with two of my critique partners the weekend I found out I was going to have “the call” with my now agent. We were celebrating and being ever-so-hopeful and having a damn good time together. See? (There may have been a Manhattan or two and some Gilmore Girls watching involved too.)

Since then, I’ve made a few different versions of this pie, and while blackberry is still the usual favorite in my household (when I suggest pie, M always votes for it!) I decided to go with raspberry for this celebratory pie. The recipe I love is from Let’s Dish and it is amazing. I also used the remaining dough from the strawberry pie that I made a few weeks ago and had stored in the freezer.

ras-pie

Ingredients

  • 1 recipe for a single crust pie, or 1 rolled refrigerated unbaked pie crust
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups fresh blackberries or 1 (16-oz.) package frozen blackberries

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  • Let frozen berries stand at room temperature for 15 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, prepare pastry and line 9-inch pie plate. Bake 8 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on wire rack.

ras-pie-crust

  • Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees.
  • In a large bowl combine sour cream, sugar, flour, and salt.
  • Add the raspberries (or blackberries) and stir gently to combine.

ras-pie-filling

  • Spoon filling into pre-baked crust. To prevent over-browning, cover edge of pie with foil.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes if using fresh berries, or 50 minutes if using frozen berries. Remove foil.
  • Bake 15-20 minutes more or until filling is bubbly and appears set.

rasp-pie-bake

